# 2015 SCMCO Joint Masjid Table Tennis Tournament Format and Instructions

# **Tournament Format**

## **Singles Format:**

All Singles Events will use "3 Match Guarantee" Format. (16 team sample bracket is shown below)

Matches in the Winner's Bracket will be Best 3 out of 5

Matches in the Loser's Bracket will be Best 2 out of 3

If the winner of the Winner's Bracket loses in the Final, there will be a re-match to determine the champion. The re-match will be Best 2 out of 3.



### 3 Match Guarantee Format Explained:

A 3 Match Guarantee Tournament simply means that every player is guaranteed to play a minimum of 3 matches. It is set up similar to Double Elimination Tournament. There is a winner's bracket and a loser's bracket, the main difference being players that lose their first two matches will get to play an extra match in the loser's bracket in order to ensure everyone gets to play at least 3 matches. A player that has already won once in the winner's

bracket is already guaranteed 3 matches as they will be playing their second match in the winner's bracket and then dropping down to the loser's bracket if that match is a loss. A player that loses their first match and wins their second match (losers bracket), will already be playing 3 matches. The championship match works the same as a double elimination. In the championship match, the player coming out of the loser's bracket must beat the player coming out of the winner's bracket twice.

#### **Doubles Format:**

All Doubles events will be straight Single Elimination.

# **Special Instructions:**

- Tournament brackets will be finalized by March 9<sup>th</sup>, 2015
- All entries and payments must be received or post marked by March 8th, 2015. The entries must include the names of the players participating in each event and up to 2 backup players per event.
- MEN'S SINGLES RESTRICTIONS:
  - Players must choose one of the three Divisions (A, B or C) in advance (except for the following restrictions).
  - o Division A Top 10 from 2014 can only play in Division A
  - o Division B Top 10 from 2014 can only play in Division A or B
  - o Players who played in Division A last year can only play in Division A or B
  - Each division is limited to 32 max players. The limit may be increased if there are less players in other divisions.
- The Quarter Finalists (top 8) from last year's tournament, in each Division, are directly invited to participate in this year's tournament. Those players will not count towards a limit of 4 maximum players per Masjid. For example if a masjid has 2 players in top 8 last year, they will be allowed 4 additional players for a total of 6 players.
- To make changes to the roster the Masjid MUST email the name(s) of replacement player(s), from among the backup players, to <a href="mailto:scmco@scmco.net">scmco@scmco.net</a> by 5pm the day before the tournament. If a player does not show up on the day of the tournament the Mosque can provide a replacement player by 9am on tournament day. In the event a Mosque cannot find a replacement player by 9am on the day of tournament, the Rules Committee will conduct a random drawing from players, on the backup list, that are present.
- Please bring your own table tennis racket / paddles. Balls will be provided.
- The tournament will take place on wooden surface, so please wear footwear that does not leave marks on the floor.
- There will be no smoking or drinking of an alcoholic beverage in the facility. No food or drinks are allowed at the playing area (except for capped bottles).
- All Masajids collectively relieve themselves from any liability from any participant. As such, a legal disclaimer will be signed by each player.
- Tournament Instructions and rules and a disclaimer will be emailed to ALL players in advance.
- To show harmony and brotherhood/sisterhood, we will start the tournament with everyone wearing the same T-shirt provided by the organizers, but you may change as needed as play progresses.

# **List of Players with Restrictions:**

## Following can only play in Division A

### \_\_\_\_\_

## 2014 Division A Top 16

- 1. Eyad Aljaal
- 2. Syed Amjad Naqvi
- 3. Nabeel Abu Hijleh
- 4. Mohtesham Shah
- 5. Fawad Saif
- 6. Salman Nasir

- Samee Ahmed
  Hashim Zaman
  Yahaha Daabbag
  Shafiqul-Fazal

## Following can only play in Division A or B

\_\_\_\_\_\_

- 11. Samer Sukhon
- 12. Ali Diab
- 13. Samir Rajput
- 14. Nasser Bunker
- 15. Ziyad Khreiwesh
- 16. Syed Shaffat Ali

## 2014 Division B top 10

- 17. Ali Haque (Division B Winner)
- 18. Shawn Hameed
- 19. Rasheed Yusuf
- 20. Mansoor Awan
- 21. Hany Elhanbaly
- 22. Arif M Hyder
- 23. Muhib Golandaz
- 24. Yunus Yahya
- 25. Khalid Khan
- 26. Adil Ahad